Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bittinger Named Rookie of the Year

Alyson Bittinger has been named VaSID Rookie of the Year for women's lacrosse.
Alyson Bittinger has been named VaSID Rookie of the Year for women's lacrosse.

ARLINGTON, Va. - Rising sophomore Alyson Bittinger has been named the Virginia State Rookie of the Year for women's lacrosse in selections announced Monday afternoon by the Virginia State Sports Information Directors Association.

Bittinger, from Westminster, Maryland, led the Hornets this past season with 47 goals and nine assists for 56 points. She added 43 draw controls, 30 groundballs and 18 draw controls on her way to being named second team All-ODAC and the ODAC Rookie of the Year.

The midfielder is the first women's lacrosse player to earn ODAC Rookie of the Year honors since the university joined the ODAC for the 2012-13 school year.

The complete team:

2018 VaSID Women's Lacrosse College All-State
Player of the Year: Kirsten Littlefield, University of Mary Washington
Rookie of the Year: Alyson Bittinger, Shenandoah University
Coach of the Year: Caitlin Moore, University of Mary Washington
First Team:
Attack: Jess Castelo, Washington and Lee University
Attack: Sarah Culver, Christopher Newport University
Attack: Elizabeth Peasley, Averett University
Midfielder: Colleen Bourgal, Christopher Newport University
Midfielder: Julia Golden, Christopher Newport University
Midfielder: Alicia Hsieh, Randolph-Macon College
Midfielder: Dorrie MacGregor, Lynchburg College
Defender: Emma Boris, Roanoke College
Defender: Riley Garcia, Washington and Lee University
Defender: Kirsten Littlefield, University of Mary Washington
Goalkeeper: Elicia Wells, Randolph-Macon College
Second Team:
Attack: Julia Albert, University of Mary Washington
Attack: Mackenzie Maguire, University of Mary Washington
Attack: Cordelia Peters, Washington and Lee University
Midfielder: Kristin Gobbi, University of Virginia-Wise
Midfielder: Dani Murray, Washington and Lee University
Midfielder: Alixis Roccia, Averett University
Defender: Sarah Alvanos, Randolph-Macon College
Defender: Jess Apgar, University of Virginia-Wise
Defender: Rachel Henderson, Lynchburg College
Defender: Kayla O'Sullivan, Bridgewater College
Goalkeeper: Melanie Reilly, University of Virginia-Wise
Bittinger Named ODAC PoW
April 15, 2019 Bittinger Named ODAC PoW
Lutz Earns Win No. 100
March 23, 2019 Lutz Earns Win No. 100
Women's Lax Tops Pride
March 6, 2019 Women's Lax Tops Pride
Women's Lax Dominates Lyco
February 23, 2019 Women's Lax Dominates Lyco
Eagles Clip Women's Lax
February 19, 2019 Eagles Clip Women's Lax
Women's Lax Moves Contest
February 18, 2019 Women's Lax Moves Contest
Schedule Changes Announced
February 14, 2019 Schedule Changes Announced
Women's Lax Picked Fourth
February 8, 2019 Women's Lax Picked Fourth
LacrosseRoads Vol. 7, No. 1
February 8, 2019 LacrosseRoads Vol. 7, No. 1
Academic Honors Announced
January 10, 2019 Academic Honors Announced
Happy New Year!
January 1, 2019 Happy New Year!
Merry Christmas!
December 25, 2018 Merry Christmas!
Happy Thanksgiving
November 22, 2018 Happy Thanksgiving
Web 101
August 30, 2018 Web 101
Happy Fourth!
July 4, 2018 Happy Fourth!